top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDeclan McCourt

Semester One - Week Four

Updated: Dec 8, 2020


I began experimenting with paper, specifically newsprint paper as I think newsprint is a really interesting material. it's shiny and easy to manipulate and i love the marks and textures it creates. building up the layers of paper to create ridges, aretes, slopes and hillsides was a really calming and effective way to bring my ideas into tangibility. paper was never really something i had thought about using as i felt it wouldn't give me the results i was looking for. compared to the fabric material i have collected, it is more malleable and easier to create forms with. the fabric relies on other factors such as, size, weight and height to create a shape or form effectively without it looking too sterile. with that being said, i still really like working with fabrics as they still bring other qualities to my work such as softness, structure and colour which i think is important. I've been leaning more towards tulle and softer fabrics as i love the transparency and textural quality. The fabrics are beginning to dance off the wall and flood onto the floor and i really like how they interact with my studio space. It would be great to take it out of my studio and into another space to see how they would behave.



polythene surprisingly also gave me interesting results in terms of texture and shape. the transparency of the material reminds me of water and ice. the way it covers materials makes it seem as if they've been preserved in time. I'm interested in how environments constantly change, preserve and erode landscapes and i feel as if the polythene is helping bring this idea into my work. i'd really like to take a cast of the polythene (if thats possible) and recreate it through ceramics or even glass. i love the fragility of it and how it feeds into the idea of environments being fragile - as they are in essence.



"Ivory Fabrics" 2011 Woomin Kim. "Play on Clay" Danielle Selig and Robin Stein


These pieces have been living in my head for a while, i like the simplicity of them yet theyre saying so much. The textures and forms are so dreamy and lovely.



Heidi Norton.

André Piguet, wet tip hen ax w/ peptide chain, 2016


Beginning to look more into preservation and tactility using resin, bio plastic and potentially glass as a means to enhance my idea of environmental interaction.




"An orbit without origin Is a Trace" & "Walk away from Gilded rooms" Karla Black.


Obsessed with these pieces by Karla Black, her work has been an inspiration this semester. I love how she experiments with almost everything and isn't afraid to document and keep the 'mistakes'. I need to apply a similar outlook to my own practice. I love the paper sculptures in "An Orbit without origin is a trace" as recently i've found myself gravitating towards paper as a structural tool rather than just a drawing one. Newsprint recently has been my go to, something about it is just amazing, the texture, colour and forms you can create with it. i love using it to draw on and also to make sculptures with, it's just so interesting.


newsprint, tulle and tape with aluminium wire.





3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page