top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDeclan McCourt

Semester One - Week Six

Updated: Dec 2, 2020


continuing on with experimentation of forms and positioning of my materials. I like the idea of the installation constantly changing and morphing into new shapes and forms. It reminds me of water erosion and generally how landscapes become eroded naturally through time or through human interaction. The materials hold onto the tape and studio walls whilst on the brink of total collapse. Reinforcing the materials acts as a performance of sorts, constantly having to adjust, situate and prop up the materials has become a routine. It's almost like second nature - to expect it to be on the floor the next day or within the next hour. I enjoy that element of surprise and how the work constantly changes like in transit, similar to how elements of a landscape are. I've began thinking about the purpose of the materials I use and what I can get from them.


Is it texture? Form? Colour? Ideas?


All of my questions lean towards sensory factors, which I think are crucial as to how my work takes shape. I rely on the qualities and the action of making which the materials present to me.



Decided to take one of the frames I made home and out of the studio as I felt I was falling behind on my work. It's begun to take shape really nicely and i'm enjoying getting back into painting and drawing on a larger scale. I sometimes feel like it's maybe too much and i'm biting off more than I can chew? The larger scale is slightly intimidating and it asks for more time from me - which I feel like i don't have. My work is translating well onto larger scales though which i'm happy about. I was afraid it would either become swallowed by scale or other factors and no longer hold the impact and details I hope for. However, I still don't like directly drawing onto canvas, even when the canvas is stretched firmly it annoys me due to that "bounce" it has? maybe it's a personal thing but i've been leaning more towards solid surfaces. I think next time I'll use more boards and paint and draw directly onto them.


A Collaboration with my friend Lucia: exploring mark making techniques using, powdered graphite, charcoal, feathers and twigs.


Lucia and I decided to collaborate on a project together as we both have similar drawing styles and techniques so we thought - why not? Our process was mainly focused around getting whatever was in our heads out onto the paper in whatever way it translated through our hands and bodies. We thought it would be fun to try dampened paper and include feathers into the project as they both give surprising results. The feathers kissed the paper so gently and left lines and shapes behind. We loved the juxtaposition of softer marks and harsher ones. thick black lines and soft almost translucent graphite shadows scattered across the page. During the project, we began discussing exhibitions and exhibition spaces in general and sometimes what it seems like the lack of spaces to display work within the art school. So we took matters into our own hands and began installing our work at the end of the 3rd year corridor down one of the stairways. it was a perfect spot.




Participating in the rehearsal "You are it" Trinity Buoy Wharf Drawing performance really pushed me out of my comfort zone as i'm not too keen on performances and being in front of the camera. It was a great learning experience and got me thinking more about the process and meaning of collaboration. The real performance takes place on Monday and i'm really happy to be taking part!


"Life After Love" exhibition at generator.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page